Discussion: Science Fiction Themes

Hi hi! So hehe fun fact about me: I really love science fiction.

It is my favorite genre to read, my favorite genre to write, my favorite—you see where I’m going.

Within science fiction there are many, many themes explored within various subgenres. Contact with aliens (The Three Body Problem rules here, no question asked), galactic empires (love ’em), parallel realities, simulations, AI, time travel, scientifically explained supernatural abilities (yep, we don’t call them magic), and so much more. You see why this genre is my favorite…right?

The themes I listed above are actually the ones I’ll be discussing today (that wasn’t planned at all…or was it? 😏). Here are some of my quick thoughts on the following:

Contact with aliens | Galactic empires | Parallel realities | Simulations | AI | Time travel | Scientifically explained supernatural abilities

Happy reading!! 😀

Contact with aliens

  • What makes it appealing: the meeting of two or more completely different species and the conflict in trying to reconcile ideals
  • What makes it tricky: the aspect of power, and who will dominate who
  • One book that does it well (in my opinion): The Three Body Problem

Galactic empires

  • What makes it appealing: economic advantages, cultural exchanges, knowledge
  • What makes it tricky: unique worldbuilding is a must
  • One book featuring it (that I haven’t read): Foundation

Parallel realities

  • What makes it appealing: the thought that you have an exact replica in an entirely different world
  • What makes it tricky: how a meeting between two such people would work
  • One book featuring it (that I am really looking forward to reading): The Space Between Worlds

Simulations

  • What makes it appealing: that a world that could feel so real is just a computer program manipulated by a higher civilization
  • What makes it tricky: that a world that could feel so real is just a computer program manipulated by a higher civilization
  • (It holds true for both)
  • One book featuring it (that I haven’t read): The Simulation Hypothesis

AI

  • What makes it appealing: that we can create intelligent beings through machinery and computer science
  • What makes it tricky: the technicalities and implications
  • One book featuring it (that I haven’t read): Neuromancer

Time travel

  • What makes it appealing: the power to go into the past, future, or put a pause on time
  • What makes it tricky: paradoxes
  • One book that does it well (in my opinion): The Time Machine

Scientifically explained supernatural abilities

  • What makes it appealing: how technology or genetics can craft supernatural “powers” (don’t say magic in science fiction, it doesn’t go down well)
  • What makes it tricky: finding a unique take on it
  • One book that features it (I may read it when I’m older): Vicious

Take a breath, you made it to the end! I hope you enjoyed reading my quick bullet points on these common science fiction themes. Obviously, I have quite some work to do to read more extensively, but hey, writing comes before reading these days so 😀

Please let me know in the comments below your thoughts on any of these themes! And—would you like to see me do it with fantasy themes next time?

Have a wonderful day, lovelies!!

11 thoughts on “Discussion: Science Fiction Themes”

    1. Thank you!! I have, and out of the eight mains, Scarlet and Winter are probably my favorites (although they all rock in their own ways). Jacin and Wolf too lol. Who are your favorites? 🙂

      Like

  1. Amazing overview, Eleanor! It’s my favorite genre as well although I’m not a huge fan of aliens or galactic empires unless it’s done really really well😂 I’m obsessed with time and supernatural powers (not magic) and tend to read more of those. I absolutely agree with most of the points you’ve mentioned here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, thank you so much D!! I’m not the biggest fan of aliens either hehe but The Three Body Problem trilogy does it so brilliantly, and goes even beyond that, so I don’t think I ever need to read a book with aliens in it again! YES I’m obsessed with time 😅 and it’s always so cool to see supernatural powers based in genetics or tech that aren’t necessarily “magic”.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such a great post! I love Sci-Fi!
    Have you read Skyward by Brandon Sanderson? It’s amazing!
    I think my favorite of these tropes is alternate reality/simulation. I just really love the Framework…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Diamond!! Hehe same here, sci-fi is my absolute favorite genre!!
      I haven’t read Skyward but I have heard of it and read the summary. A ship with a soul does sound intriguing!! I hope I can read it soon and enjoy 😀
      Alternate realities and simulations are so fascinating and there are a lot of possibilities with characters there. The Framework was…really intense 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment